Aadarsha Kotwal Rural Municipality is situated at south-east part of Bara district, Province number two. This Rural Municipality was established in 2073 B.S. by combining then Paterwa, Tedhakatti, Inarwamal, Mahendra Aadarsha and Laxmipur Kotwali Village Development Committees. This local unit is divided into eight wards. This Rural Municipality is surrounded by Rautahat district from east, Pachtaura Municipality from west, Baragadhi Rural Municipality from north and Simroun Gadh Municipality from south.

As per the census 2011, total population of this Rural Municipality is 27,552. Most populated ward is ward number five. This covers total area of 36.25 kilometer square. Hindu and Muslim are major religions followed by people and Bhojpuri, Maithali, Tharu and Nepali are major language spoken. Agriculture is major occupation though most of the farming land lacks irrigation facility. This local unit is connected with road network and most of the households have electricity access.

Mr. Mustafa Ansari is Chairperson and Ms. Punam Devi Shah is Vice-chairperson of this Rural Municipality. Mahendra aadarsa bazaar is center of this local unit. Total number of staffs working under this local unit is 36.