Jan 27, 2022

The geographical area of Aathrai Rural Municipality is 167.07 sq km. It has a population of 21747 according to census 2011. This rural municipality has seven wards. It was formed by merging six VDCs. It is surrounded by Tamor river in the east and Koyakhola in the west and Taplejung district in the north and Tamor river again in the south. The headquarter of this municipality is situated in Sankranti Bazaar.

Limbu dominance in the region is very common. However, the ethnic and cultural fabric of this area is in complete harmony. Black cardamom production from this area has very huge contribution in national economy and has shown some prospects to target global market.

The Chairperson and Vice chairperson this rural municipality are Maan Bahadur Lama and Rupa Devi Kandungwa respectively.

Source: https://www.aathraimun.gov.np/