The Province is a unit of the state structure of Nepal. The Province is a political entity that exercises constitutional authority within defined political boundary. Within the Province, there are a specified number of local levels. There are currently seven provincial units in Nepal. As per the constitutional spirit and allocation of powers, the provinces operate between the federal and the local level. Therefore, provinces are expected to bridge between federal and local level. In federalized countries, provincial units are responsible for the economic and social development of the province, guaranteeing basic security of citizens, leading tasks that the federal government should undertake at the provincial level, developing the capacity of the local level and expanding the state structure. It is expected that province would safeguard the rights of local level and protect the federal government from unnecessary interference. The province will implement its policies and plans according to its geographical, social and economic diversity and needs and identify the potential for economic development and would strive for becoming self-reliant. Province together with federal and local level would work towards to protect Nepal’s geographical integrity, fundamental rights, national interest and multi-party competitive democratic federal governance system. In the province, the provincial assembly exercises legislative power and the provincial cabinet exercises executive power.

Schedule-6, relating to clause (2) of Article 57, clause (4) of Article 162, Article 197, clause (3) of Article 231, clause (7) of Article 232, clause (4) of Article 274 and clause (4) of Article 296) of The Constitution of Nepal, 2015

  1. State police administration and peace and order
  2. Operation of banks and financial institutions in accordance with the policies of Nepal Rastra Bank, cooperative institutions, foreign grants and assistance with the consent of the Centre
  3. Operation of Radio, F.M., television
  4. House and land registration fee, motor vehicle tax, entertainment tax, advertisement tax, tourism, agro-income tax, service charge, fee, penalty
  5. State civil service and other government services
  6. State statistics
  7. State level electricity, irrigation and water supply services, navigation
  8. State universities, higher education, libraries, museums
  9. Health services
  10. Matters relating to the State Assembly, State Council of Ministers
  11. Intra-State trade
  12. State highways
  13. State bureau of investigation
  14. Physical management and other necessary matters of State governmental offices
  15. State Public Service Commission
  16. Management of lands, land records
  17. Exploration and management of mines
  18. Protection and use of languages, scripts, cultures, fine arts and religions
  19. Use of forests and waters and management of environment within the State
  20. Agriculture and livestock development, factories, industrialization, trade, business, transportation
  21. Management of trusts (Guthi)

Schedule-7, relating to clause (3) of Articles 57, Article 109, clause (4) of Article 162, and Article 197) of The Constitution of Nepal, 2015

  1. Civil and criminal procedure, evidence and oaths (legal recognition, public acts and  records, and judicial proceedings)
  2. Supply, distribution, price control, quality and monitoring of essential goods and services
  3. Preventive detention for reasons connected with the security of the country, prison and detention management, and maintenance of peace and order
  4. Transfer of accused persons, detainees and prisoners from one State to another State
  5. Laws relating to family affairs (marriage, transfer of property, divorce, persons on the verge of extinction, orphan, adoption, succession and joint family)
  6. Acquisition, requisitioning of property and creation of right in property
  7. Contracts, cooperatives, partnership and agency related matters
  8. Matters relating to bankruptcy and insolvency
  9. Drugs and pesticides
  10. Planning, family planning and population management
  11. Social security and employment, trade unions, settlement of industrial disputes, and labour rights and disputes related matters
  12. Legal profession, auditing, engineering, medicines, Ayurvedic medicines, veterinary, Amchi and other professions
  13. State boundary river, waterways, environment protection, biological diversity
  14. Matters related to means of communication
  15. Industries and mines and physical infrastructures
  16. Casino, lottery
  17. Early preparedness for, rescue, relief and rehabilitation from, natural and manmade calamities
  18. Tourism, water supply and sanitation
  19. Motion pictures, cinema halls and sports
  20. Insurance business operation and management
  21. Poverty alleviation and industrialization
  22. Scientific research, science and technology and human resources development
  23. Utilization of forests, mountains, forest conservation areas and waters stretching in inter-State form
  24. Land policies and laws relating thereto
  25. Employment and unemployment aid

Schedule 9, relating to clause (5) of Article 57, Article 109, clause (4) of Article 162, Article 197, clause (2) of Article 214, clause (2) of Article 221, and clause (1) of Article 226)

  1. Cooperatives
  2. Education, health and newspapers
  3. Health
  4. Agriculture
  5. Services such as electricity, water supply, irrigation
  6. Service  fee,  charge,  penalty and royalty from  natural  resources,
  7. Forests, wildlife, birds, water uses, environment, ecology and bio-diversity
  8. Mines and minerals
  9. Disaster management
  10. Social security and poverty alleviation
  11. Personal events, births, deaths, marriages and statistics
  12. Archaeology,  ancient monuments and museums
  13. Landless squatters management
  14. Royalty from natural resources
  15. Motor vehicle permits